Wheel Change

mjs4x4

A2OC Donor
I have just changed the wheels on my Sport from the 17" with 205/45 tyres on to 16" with 185/50 tyres on.

I figured that the tyres will have a different circumference and so the speedo/milage recorder will now be a little inaccurate.

I measured the circumference of the two tyres (because I was not clever enough to calculate it). The 17" wheel/tyre was 74" and the 16" wheel/tyre was 72.5".

If the speedo/mileage recorder reads from wheel revolutions (as I assume it must) the readings will be 2% inaccurate - doing 98mph when reading 100mph (I wish)!

Right or wrong?

Can you use the VAGCOM to correct this - just set the computer to calculate figures on the 16" wheel/tyre combination?

Mike

Hi Mike
I'm no expert on vagcom but I don't think it can be used to correct speedo readings.
I agree with your speedo error calculations.

Out of interest, has the ride improved and have you fitted the Sachs dampers yet?

Cheers Spike

No, VAG-COM cannot correct speedo readings. It can be used to correct GALA settings for the radio by inputting your tyre cirumferance in mm, but that's it.

Cheers,

Mike

Presumably, if you can input (change) the tyre circumference in mm then by implication you ARE changing the data given by the speedo / mileage recorder.

Mike

Spike,

I was so sick of the ride quality on the Sport that two days ago I got the Sachs dampers fitted AND changed the wheels to 16" SE alloys (ex eBAY). I drove it home from Richmond and it seemed a lot less uncomfortable (no back ache after 20 miles). I toyed with the idea of changing the springs as well - but concluded that I am spending enough money sorting out this particular car.

I'll get to use it a bit over the next week or so and can form a proper judgement.

You recall that I had the 17" wheel/ABS sensor wire problem when I got it - well for good measure the other side has gone now!!

Set of 17" Sport wheels and near new Michelin tyres appearing on eBay soon methinks!!

Mike