View Full Version : SLR Express.com
Skipton01
02-07-2008, 10:55 PM
Here's something that someone may be able to comment on:
I'm looking at upgrading my Nikon D70 to something a little more capable and have seen a tempting deal at www.slrexpress.com on a D300 kit.
They appear quite genuine and have answered all emails satisfactorily however, on placing an order, I was then asked to pay via a service called Liberty Reserve, which I have never heard of.
On further investigation, Liberty Reserve is an offshore company, based near Costa Rica and their main selling point seems to be the irreversibility of the payment (i.e. once made, a payment cannot be stopped or reversed or refunded).
Question: has anyone had dealings with SLR Express or Liberty Reserve? Perhaps Minoltaman can comment.
Cheers,
Mike
Sarge786
03-07-2008, 01:08 AM
Hmm looks a little dodgy, play it safe mate. ;)
If it's the same one then it's on eBay for about the same price anyway.
Also I'm sure your aware that paying with credit cards gives you extra protection. I think American Express protects you if online sellers fails to send goods, or disappear, I think Capitol One does too.
Skipton01
03-07-2008, 01:17 AM
Absolutely - I've since asked them if I can pay with a more recogniseable means, such as credit/debit card, bank transfer Paypal etc and they simply sent a 2 word reply: 'order canceled' and yes, that's their spelling!
Cheers,
Mike
the grim reeper
03-07-2008, 06:12 PM
Hey Mike looks like that was a close shave with them, i would try to get it from somewhere else
Cheers Phil
A2SPORT
03-07-2008, 06:37 PM
Close shave Mike, looks like a web page from the real hustle program.;);)
Cheers,
A2sport
dan_b
03-07-2008, 06:38 PM
Walk Away!
pizzapeetso
03-07-2008, 08:07 PM
Try Cameta Camera, Skipton. Have look at their site:
http://secure.cameta.com/index.cfm
I bought a D100 package from them and they were excellent to deal with. They are outside New York City and shipped very quickly and reasonably to UK. Their ebay shop has over 270,000 +ve feedbacks.
Skipton01
03-07-2008, 08:21 PM
Thanks for the heads up on Cameta - I've used them before and apart from being stung with VAT, the deal was superb as there's no import duty on digital still cameras (there is on lenses though).
Unfortunately, they have no D300s in. I think I'll be using Calumet (www.calumetphoto.co.uk) as they are close to me in Manchester and our staff photographers have accounts there.
I am a careful internet shopper and although tempted, I was always mindful of the old saying "If it looks too good to be true, it probably is".
Cheers,
Mike
wooly A2
03-07-2008, 10:05 PM
My mate just purchased a Nice Panasonic Camera of the web in a deal that was too good to be true ,anyway he paid for it then he waited for the camera to turn up ,then he waited and he waited and he waited a bit more until he got fed up waiting .......
He phoned them up and they said there had been a delay in sending it off as they where out of stock at the suppliers .....
He said can i cancel the order please as ive see one somwhere else they said the camera had already been dispatched so when he returned the camera he could have his money back no problem the camera turned up in a few days ,so hes know paid for 2 camera's a total of just over £500...
His mum just happened to be going to the PO so he got her to post it back to the company on the web but she never sent it recorded and lost the proof of postage and yes you guessed it the company reckon they've never recieved the camera back so my mates had to pay for 2 camera's so it was not such a good deal afterall pigsick comes to mind .....
bretti_kivi
07-07-2008, 12:38 PM
mike, there's a bunch of places keep getting recommended over on talkaudio (check the photography forum). begins with a "k"? Anyway, remember your warranty.... IIRC the body warranty is local, Lens international with Nikon.
Bret
Ed449
09-07-2008, 02:57 PM
If you haven't bought yet, you may want to try Grays of Westminster (http://www.graysofwestminster.co.uk/welcome.php). Often thought to be expensive, they are actually very competitive and give two years warranty on all new Nikon equipment.
I have bought plenty of kit through them in the past, and their service has been second to none.
iwasnevy
16-08-2008, 05:19 AM
Has anyone found out anything about this company or placed an order? I'm looking at a good deal on a D300 there too, but am having a hard time finding info on them. If it helps, here's what I've found out so far:
Google maps: It's a residential address (look at street view):
http://maps.google.com/maps?hl=en&tab=wl
Their county's BBB information (the address matches, but notice the registration date (aug, '08)):
http://goldengate.bbb.org/WWWRoot/Report.aspx?site=99&bbb=1116&firm=303323
Whois info on their URL (registered in May 2008:
http://www.whois.net/whois_new.cgi?d=slrexpress&tld=com
All the addresses match so far, but here's a business with the same address (Grants Unlimited):
http://www.kleimann.com/plain_gj.htm#grantsu
Anyone have any input? I'm thinking of ordering...
Skipton01
16-08-2008, 10:30 AM
Unless you can afford to lose a lot of money, DO NOT orderfrom them.
The only form of payment they take is via an off-shore concern near south America and once sent there is no trace or refund option.
Buy from a reputable store.
Cheers,
Mike
Has anyone found out anything about this company or placed an order? I'm looking at a good deal on a D300 there too, but am having a hard time finding info on them. If it helps, here's what I've found out so far:
Google maps: It's a residential address (look at street view):
http://maps.google.com/maps?hl=en&tab=wl
Their county's BBB information (the address matches, but notice the registration date (aug, '08)):
http://goldengate.bbb.org/WWWRoot/Report.aspx?site=99&bbb=1116&firm=303323
Whois info on their URL (registered in May 2008:
http://www.whois.net/whois_new.cgi?d=slrexpress&tld=com
All the addresses match so far, but here's a business with the same address (Grants Unlimited):
http://www.kleimann.com/plain_gj.htm#grantsu
Anyone have any input? I'm thinking of ordering...
vBulletin® v3.7.3, Copyright ©2000-2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.