Newbie Needing Advice!!

Hi Guys,

I'm new to this and being a prospective A2 buyer, I need some sound advice... I'm potentially buying an A2 tomorrow x-reg 1.4 SE in blue from a non-audi car dealer and needed your expert opinions. I've already found my way round the site for things to look out for when looking at the car but my question is this;

Its an x-reg with 90,000 on the clock. I'm not sure it has FSH and it possibly has 7 previous owners... My boyf has told me to stay clear of it but I've been in love with the A2 ever since I started learning to drive!

Also, I'm limited to the dealers I can buy from as it's a work scheme I'm going through and so any dealer I buy from has to be affiliated with my Organisation.

Any opinions would be very much appreciated...

P

Hi, and welcome!

A FSH would be preferable to have, do you know if it has any history as to any work done. The cambelt should have been changed around 50,000 miles, and is important to know if that was done. 'Annual' servicing is mainly changing oil, filters and brake fluid about each 2-3 years.

Otherwise, servicing will usually be on any items needing attention at the time. Things may include rear shocks, battery, wiper, bulbs, and any other issues that can pop up. I would not be tempted if there is no history at all, as can be expensive to look after if needing a lot of TLC - otherwise if main bits are done, quite cheap to keep on top of. Having a lot of owners is also something I would be suspicious about.

If there is some history, just check the main things, smooth clutch action, all electrics work, no black smoke on start up, sunroof works if it has one, no signs of leaking etc.

Good luck and keep us posted

Last edited:
Firstly I hope your not spending more than £3250 for this car including road tax and warranty? It's a buyers market so you can haggle and shop around - make sure you get a good one!