Front valance damage!

meriafel

A2OC Donor
Parked on my local promenade this evening with both front wheels an inch of so from the kerbstone in a designated tarmacked parking spot looking out to sea. Done it loads of times this year as my wife does Pilates. Could have selected any space as only one other vehicle there. Went to pull off off gently but found I was being held back! tried a couple of times but the same effect!

I was hooked by my front valance over several beach pebbles that the council decided to stick into the concrete valance above kerb. Yes it has been there for years and no I have never done it before and Yes, I was aware it was there. Normally these jobs done locally are pretty shoddily done and come detached but not this time. I was hooked over 3 long upright pebbles in failing light with no torch and had started to rip the plastic.

With the eventual help of 3 fit women, borrowed garden spade, and forks and a rough plank we managed to hold all the plastic bits in place while I reversed off. Amazingly tough for a 2001 car and all in black plastic and unpainted.

Question is, how much is a new 'under bumper'which is the largest part? The undertray was already off, washed with Polyclens, been repaired and awaiting the various fixings to join up to the wings, Webasto exhaust etc. It was quite robust as it had copper wire 'guys' holding everywhere it should have been supported so I was able to get the car up to Stoke Audi for windscreen and elsewhere for MOT etc. A strong copper lattice that retained all in place I have some Rivenuts for fitting the two side'wings' of the undertray up to the alloy side beams attached with a 6mm bolt each side.

Does anyone sell or list the various undertray fixings etc for the A2 75 SE TDI of early 2001?
I have ordered the CREE reversing light bulbs described on A2OC recently, thanks fellow member! and now want better interior lights that will still dim slowly etc. Is that possible and what do I need?

Last edited: