TDI engine breather...

Gary - G

'evening all,
I thought that i would post the details of an engine breather that i have been running on my A2 for around 6 months, as i haven't found a similar post where anyone else has done this.

This mod was first carried out on my 2.5 TDI allroad, after i discovered oil throughout the entire induction system and the mess that it makes of the turbo and manifolds etc.

All i did, was to remove the crankcase breather tube from the turbo inlet, plug the hole and make a filter casing and element so that the crankcase vents to the atmosphere, rather like engines of old.

The filter can be changed and the engine spared of having to burn the oil vapor and condensation that the breather emits.

The result on the allroad was dramatic; the turbo and pipework stayed clean and exhaust emissions were reduced.

When i bought the A2 and took the induction trunking, egr valve etc., apart, the same problem was evident and so i made up a similar filter.

I removed the link pipe from the rocker cover to fit the filter trunking and blanked the union on the inlet next to the turbo.

The filter canister was made from an empty aluminium cosmetic container and the filter medium is a rolled up kitchen scourer.

A sleeve inside the cut-off end of the canister allows removal and refitted for servicing.

The pipework is made from bits laying around in my garage.

I think i bought 2 jubilee clips, but that's all.

The A2 was MOT'd last week and there was no visible exhaust emissions, whereas i had previously seen some in the mirror under hard acceleration, so i think that my cheap and minor mod has been successful. The tester was impressed too.

When i checked the filter there was oil present after a couple of thousand miles and in the winter, a lot of condensation had collected too, all of which is better out than in, in my opinion...

G.

P_20170119_113651.jpgP_20170119_114044.jpgP_20170119_114110.jpg