exaust fumes in cab while stationary

Hi,

Had my A2 a few weeks now and another problem i have found is once the car is warmed up when i stop at lights etc in town i am quickly choked by strong exaust fumes which is bad enuf to give a sore head and nip my eyes, its ok on the move. i have been driving large mercedes saloons for 15 years and i am wondering is this due to being a hatch? anyone else had this problem or any suggestions??

Thanks Don.

Hi Don,

Welcome to the A2OC!

Certainly sounds like a well-specced car you've got there.

As for the fumes, get things checked out immediately - that is in no way normal or usual for an A2, despite its body shape.

Does it smell like exhaust fumes or could it possibly be the aircon system? This is known to give out some heady smells from time to time.

Cheers,

Mike

Hi

thanks for that yes i was looking for months for the right spec and colour a2 to come up and i eventually saw it in leeds audi so had a 400 mile round trip to collect. i never thought about the aircon though i have had the climate control in economy mode all the time, would the smell still come from it in this mode?

Thanks don.

The smell would especially come on in ECON mode as the compressor is switched off when this buttin is pressed. This makes it loads easier for bacteria to grow in the aircon system and the smell from the bacteria could quite easily be transmitted to the cabin when everything gets warmed up.

If you can, get the system cleaned out (there is an aerosol available from the dealer) or looked at under warranty and then make sure you run the system at least once a week for an hour or so.

Cheers,

Mike

Hi Don
Hope this is not insulting your intelligence but is there is a chance the fumes are being picked up from other traffic. If so you could try setting the climate control to the 'air recirculation' mode (curved arrow under the small display window)

Cheers Spike

Hi Don,