1st A2 project Black 2005 SE 1.4L petrol CAT D 34k miles.

Rowdy

I just got my 1st A2 and found out it was a CAT D. The car had been left standing for about 10 years and needs some love. I am a total novice in terms of being a mechanic so I am learning as I go. After some advice from @Rusty911 (thanks.!) I spent the morning with the car up on some wheel ramps wire brushing the wishbones and coating them in Hammerite. Here are some photos. If anyone spots anything which needs attention any advice would be totally appreciated. Thanks.!

A156A77C-87E0-4550-805D-AA4EC1F487C1.jpeg
6BE2D7DF-EFAB-4CBC-A43F-CAA47B665641.jpeg
0EE1C298-D957-41E6-B3F4-05B354108A3A.jpeg
61AC1BEF-C343-427D-ABB7-2F9521626D17.jpeg
AA98B507-A3A5-4BC2-9D68-81E7CE46D1FF.jpeg
BB583492-E465-4C9E-AF76-72AD8DFC681D.jpeg

Last edited:
I just got my 1st A2 and found out it was a CAT D. The car had been left standing for about 10 years and needs some love. I am a total novice in terms of being a mechanic so I am learning as I go. After some advice from @Rusty911 (thanks.!) I spent the morning with the car up on some wheel ramps wire brushing the wishbones and coating them in Hammerite. Here are some photos. If anyone spots anything which needs attention any advice would be totally appreciated. Thanks.!

View attachment 85528View attachment 85529View attachment 85530View attachment 85531View attachment 85532View attachment 85533
Don't forget to give the arms a good dose of cavity wax: you can buy Dinitrol as an aerosol, one can should do both sides. You're aiming to get a good coating on all internal surfaces, particularly the lower ones where salty water will by sitting in a few months time.

Other readers of the thread: when I gave the car a quick post-purchase look, I did give the arms a good tapping with a pointy thing, and despite their rustic appearance there were surprisingly sound with a good ring to them so well worth preserving for now.