Alternator light

devans

England
I have the alternator light on the dash it’s not very bright much less when the car isn’t running. The photo shows it brighter than it looks . I’ve measured the voltage with the car running and when not running it looks good to me. The alternator looks fairly new so does the battery. Nothing in VCDS either.

31789EA9-47DC-4B31-BF33-5A28E481855A.jpeg

Not running

4105F834-DFE7-4F9E-935C-AF27DE97F497.jpeg

Car running

DD88EA7C-2F1B-43BC-8595-E3EB0D6EAFCB.jpeg

Voltage running

74885D80-A415-460F-B1C4-FD9DFAF7FEAF.jpeg

Car not running

Evening David,

Im no expert on there things but if your battery is good then it might be worth testing the voltage nearer where the fault/notification is, in this case the instrument cluster not reading enough power. Instead of at the battery, check the voltage at the instrument cluster (Fuse 1: 10a) and the earthing point at the A pillar. If you get very similar readings as you posted above then I’m out of ideas.

If there is a significant difference in readings then this would point to the vehicle harness somewhere which is beyond my knowledge at this time.

You could also test the voltage at the large fuse within the passengers footwell compartment along with the the earthing point in the A pillar.

Hope this narrows down your issue.

Kind regards,

Tom

Another quick and simple check is to ensure that the battery terminals are clean and tight and the auxilliary positive box is secure to the positive clamp and its internals are clean with a good tight contact.

I reading from fuse 1
40D45E22-9964-4F13-AA32-13131955AD96.jpeg

Reading in the boot

DEEBAA83-0072-4797-A502-53651B9563EB.jpeg

Battery is fairly new .terminals all look good and tight.

665E1312-6940-4235-A323-9A99FB1D007E.jpeg

I’m going to swap the battery over see if it makes a difference

Battery swapped no difference. I have a spare alternator to that’s the next thing I can swap over but that’s a bit more work.