Barometric Pressure Sensor (P1553 CODE) Air Intake leak (P1504)

Nicliu

Hi there

I've just put my Audi A2 1.4 petrol, 76,000 miles through it's MOT. Had a new timing belt fitted when I bought it.
There has been a recurring problem which was thought to be connected to the throttle body which we replaced, the car was running well but the lights came on again.

The car when travelling at slow speeds keeps switching on the alarm with the EPC + Engine warning light, these are the codes which keep coming up:

P1552 Barometric Pressure Sensor
P1504 Air intake leak intermittent and repeating

He's not 100% sure that by replacing the Barometric Pressure Sensor would resolve this issue, being a kind and honest guy he doesn't want to get the part and fit it and not have it fully sorted, i suggested that it might be best to put it to this forum to see if any of you might be able to suggest where this problem is coming from.

I'm not a mechanic but hope i'm relaying what i've been told sufficiently.

Many thanks in advance!

Nic

Welcome to the club,

I warmly recommend Gary at B&F Autos, West Hounslow. Not a lot he doesn't know about A2 and sensible bills to boot. It is, on the whole, best to go to them what know!

Best wishes

To be honest I've spent money with a garage in East London about £660 getting it through the MOT, having a new window wiper motor fitted, few other parts I can't remember off the top of my head and the throttle body fitted (which i had bought). The mechanic has held his hands up and said he really ain't sure what to do and doesn't want to start replacing more parts. But said if I could speak to someone on here that might know more about them based on the information above that he'd be willing to take some advice and try suggestions on here.

Otherwise going to a new garage will just add to the bill, not that I won't do that on your advice but just would like to try to get a solution from this pool of knowledge first.

Thanks again Nic!