Front suspension overhaul

Kleynie

A2OC Donor
The last couple of days were spent renewing the components on the front of my sons A2 1.4i, this is a pig of a job and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. We started at 3pm on Friday, worked until 9.30pm, then Saturday 9.30am to 8pm, Sunday was just about tidying and finishing the little bits like the cable clips on the struts, so maybe another 1.5 hours.
Now I am a time served mechanical engineer and Adam is pretty handy even at 17 years old, but nothing prepared us for how hard this job was!

First off, the parts list. We purchased the important bits from Audi and went for the better polo top mounts:

From Crewe Audi
6N0 412 249 C – strut top bearing £16.80 each
6Q0 412 331 B – strut top mount £37.20 each
8Z0 412 301 D – bump stop £13.20 each
6N0 413 175 A – Bellows £10.80 each
N 10207803 – Bolt for strut clamp £3 each
N 10106402 - Nut for strut clamp £1.44 each
TOTAL £164.88

From Amazon
Suspension Bush remover/installer https://www.amazon.co.uk/Laser-4748-Suspension-Remover-Installer/dp/B0034AHGSM £77 (although seems to have gone up now)

From Ebay
Meyle cast control arm passenger side https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/116-050-...del:A2&hash=item33d55ab4c9:g:G-oAAOSw7GRZIP6A £62.67
Meyle cast control arm drivers side https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/116-050-...del:A2&hash=item33d34398ed:g:VTYAAOSwcgNZGVMI £62.67
Bilstien B3 springs https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Bilstein...e=STRK:MEBIDX:IT&_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649 £75.66 pair
Bilstien B4 shocks https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Bilstein...e=STRK:MEBIDX:IT&_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649 £33.60 each
Meyle HD droplinks and ARB bushes https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/FOR-AUDI...e=STRK:MEBIDX:IT&_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649 £31.95 pair

EuroCarParts
Lemforder control arm bushes https://www.eurocarparts.com/search/610442065 £18.89 pair (depending on current discount code)