hello - researching future a2 purchase

rob.e

Hello A2 folks, newbie here.

I'm researching a future A2 purchase, most likely i'll get something spring time next year, just looking around right now to see what's there and understand the differences between various vehicles and what options there are around. Always loved these but never had one - the alu construction was way ahead of it's time and will be a future classic i think. Also amazed how cheap these are and how many nice low miles cars there seem to be around - i guess this is 'cos lots of these must have been "second cars" so not racking up the miles.

I'm currently running a Skoda Octavia vRS 230 company car, but after many years of company cars i'm sick of the amount of money i'm paying in tax, plus i like to have something i can tweak and make my own but realistically the main driver is to save money. My communte is 110 miles round trip. Yes i do that pretty much every day.

I'm a serial car modifier. Pretty much everything i've ever had has been adjusted in some way; suspension, brakes, maps, wheels, seats etc. so i'm not averse to getting my hands dirty on the a2. Car history includes lots of fast stuff, sports cars.

My other vehicle is a 1978 vw t2 westfalia that was a wreck three years ago but is "almost" finished now.. (are these things every really finished?)

Some a2 questions for you guys:

I know the 1.4 tdi seems to be the vehicle of choice for minimising your fuel cost, and i'm not averse to one of these but i have a fear that older diesels are just about to be taxed/legislated off the road, so maybe the petrol is a better choice... in which case: