Hey all

Scubadude

Quick hello to all members I’m new to the a2 scene perusing for some information before I buy a car.
I’m based in Cumbria how do the tdis handle the hills? Very informative so far cannot wait to take the leap!

Welcome. The Tdi75 is the most reliable, especially remapped. Fit a rear anti roll bar to reduce roll, and they are fun!

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

Very well, handle anything really, a remap 75 goes even better, never been in a 90 thou

Quick hello to all members I’m new to the a2 scene perusing for some information before I buy a car.
I’m based in Cumbria how do the tdis handle the hills? Very informative so far cannot wait to take the leap!
Welcome,
Not answering your handling query; but my local independent all make garage here in east Kent had an 02 reg 1.4 TDI with 158,000 miles up for £1750 a few days ago.
It appears to have sold already. It had bad bumper scrapes and scuffed alloys and centres.
I only stopped to compare it to mine; and interestingly, the salesman said it was the first A2 he'd seen in the 14 years he'd been there.

Seeing that nobody else has answered your question about handing hills; my remapped tdi75 easily tackles Hardknott and Wrynose in much the same way that I can remember doing in an original Mini Cooper S around 50 years ago. It would hold (at least) the national speed limit up to the top of Shap on the M6 too. They're great cars.

And being up in Cumbria you are very close to the guru that is Timmus (Tom Cunningham).
If you do get a 75 TDI and it's not mapped, he is your man.
He's based near Lancaster.

That’s great news not too far a trip to get things sorted. Think I will take the plunge and get my first a2 not entirely sure what I would require spec wise but a sound daily runner a must. I could always upgrade or get another at a later date