How to detail: a beginner's guide.

timmus

A2OC Donor
Another day, another question...

I'd like to improve the bodywork of my A2, but other than cleaning my car with a bucket of soapy water and a hose, I'm a complete novice. So, I'd like some advice about how to approach this, the order in which jobs should be done, the "dos and don'ts", etc.

I have borrowed a machine polisher from a friend, and some dry compound. I've also got a bottle of AutoGlym polish, which is less viscous but probably does the same thing. I've also got a large can of Collinte 476S. I don't have a clay bar, yet.

If I understand correctly, I need to do the following:

1. wash the car
2. clay bar
3. polish
4. wax

What's the two bucket method of washing a car? Are there any stages I've missed out? How do I apply the Collinite wax? This has to be the most open-ended thread I've ever posted. Talk to me, guys!

Tom

I'll tell you what I do.

Rinse the car with a hose.
Wash the car with one bucket of car shampoo.
Rinse the car.

Whilst the car is still wet, commence claying. Turn the clay frequently.
Apply AutoGlym super resin polish and buff off with a microfibre cloth.
Apply AutoGlym Perfectionist Gloss, leave for an hour and buff off with another microfibre cloth.
Apply a wax of your choice and buff off with another microfibre cloth.
Crack open several beers.

Thanks Dan.

The Collinite I've got seems like a very firm wax. Do I need to let this sit in hot water for a bit to soften it up, or can it be applied as is? How do I apply wax? I seem to remember reading that doing it with your bare hands is the best way as you don't waste wax in the cloth and you can get your fingers into the joins, etc.

How many beers do I need to open?

Tom

two buckets, please. Use a mitt with either dreadlocks or a lambswool or similar and rinse in one bucket, take fresh soapy water from the other.