New member..

Vantagemech

Evening all,
Looking at buying an A2, primarily as I will be doing 400 miles a week next year and dont want to either destroy my BMW or (its a 2.5i) my bank balance...
Looking at a tdi as its a bit quirky, sounds like it is reasonably comfy on a motorway and the most important bit its the only small car my wife likes (She has a 07 mk2 TT)
Having read the forums for a few weeks it looks like a 1.4tdi 75 is the way to go.
You can probably guess from my forum name I am a mechanic (though mainly race cars) so working on them isnt really an issue
Ive looked in all the usual places, AT/ eBay .FB Marketplace but all the cars are "oop nurth" or 1.6fsi's

Are there any hidden gems down south (Im in the Hastings / Rye area) as I really dont want to travel a 400 mile round trip for nothing!!

Thanks

Steve

Hi Steve, welcome to the forum. There's usually some TDi's about for sale, have a look in the Market. You may need to pay the joining fee to see the Market.
I have a TDi that I will send you information on, with a little TLC I think it will be right up your street!

Sarge

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi Andy,
yes spotted that, but did the MOT history check and the advisory list looked eye watering - I know from being in the trade advisories never get done on a sales car :) But thanks for looking. Sarges one looks very tempting...

Hiya. Funny that you're doon sooth and think that they are all up north, which is where I'm looking and think they are all down there!

Hi Andy,
yes spotted that, but did the MOT history check and the advisory list looked eye watering - I know from being in the trade advisories never get done on a sales car :) But thanks for looking. Sarges one looks very tempting...
Sounds like you are sorted with Sarge then. Sarge's knowledge of A2's is immense, just click on the links in his footer post for a flavour, to say nothing of his reputation for honesty and integrity.