Recommenden Garage Harpenden/St Albans/Luton area?

Norm

My 1.6FSI just failed MOT with high CO (0.7% fast idle) but HC only 62ppm. The view of my usual local "man" is it is not the Cats but, very unsure what it might be! So reluctant to thrown new cats at it unless there is a better than even chance that it will solve the issue.

So, can i ask if there is a garage in the Harpenden/St Albans/Luton area that members might reccomend.
Greatful for any suggestions. (And would travel further if necessary)
Many thanks
Norman

Can I suggest a bottle of cataclean and an "italian tune-up" - before going straight back in for the guy to test the emissions again?

I have heard much success of this working on a very wide range of cars of all descriptions with only slightly elevated emissions like yours is.

Thanks, but would you say 0.7% versus a upper limit of 0.3% is a slight elevation? I'm not experienced in these technicalities so interested to know.
Havent tried an italian tune-up given that the MOT has expired so not risking too long journeys.
Really, I'm happy to let a garage handle it but wary of main dealers for all the usual reasons, but it seems a bit much for my usual "man". Hence, asking where members are happy to entrust their cars to.

Thanks, but would you say 0.7% versus a upper limit of 0.3% is a slight elevation? I'm not experienced in these technicalities so interested to know.
Havent tried an italian tune-up given that the MOT has expired so not risking too long journeys.
Really, I'm happy to let a garage handle it but wary of main dealers for all the usual reasons, but it seems a bit much for my usual "man". Hence, asking where members are happy to entrust their cars to.
Great to meet a fellow Harpendenian! I think I've seen your car... a red FSI parked near the Engineer?
I use Pan Autos on Coldharbour Lane. They seem to care and also know about the jacking requirements on our little beauties 😀