Noisy tickover - clonking noise - please help!

RWhites

A2OC Donor
Hi all.
I'm fairly new to the A2, we've had ours for about 5 months and has been pretty trouble free so far!! It is a 1.4 tdi 90 2004 with about 100,000 miles under its belt.

Over the last month or so I've noticed an odd clonking noise at tickover speed (when stationary). The noise disappears when the clutch is depressed. It seems to be getting progressively worse, but that could just be my imagination. It is, however, very noisy - we're not talking about a slight noise here, and nor is it 'Diesel noise'.

Can anyone shed any light on it for me? Possible checks / diagnosis / solution??

Many thanks in advance.

Could very well be the dreaded dual mass flywheel clutch is on its way out. My son's Golf Mk4 130 Tdi is the same - having said that, it's been making this noise for the last 50,000 miles and still going strong.

On my 90 tdi it was a heat resistant plastic shield low down near the turbo it vibrated loose. Get down under offside front wheel and you can't miss the white plastic. It makes a terrible clatter. Hold it when on Rickover and you'll soon realise if this is it. My dual mass flywheel has been fine and I've got 80000 on now

Could very well be the dreaded dual mass flywheel clutch is on its way out. My son's Golf Mk4 130 Tdi is the same - having said that, it's been making this noise for the last 50,000 miles and still going strong.

So, potentially good news, and bad!!! I've heard a little about this dual mass flywheel , but never really seen a clear set of symptoms to compare with - anyone??

On my 90 tdi it was a heat resistant plastic shield low down near the turbo it vibrated loose. Get down under offside front wheel and you can't miss the white plastic. It makes a terrible clatter. Hold it when on Rickover and you'll soon realise if this is it. My dual mass flywheel has been fine and I've got 80000 on now