Knocking Sound! Help.

mgag.1

Hi
My wife came home today after a 100 mile round trip and said there was a loud knocking sound coming from the front left footwell?
I took her car for a little drive and I'm guessing it's something to do with the anti roll bar bushes but I'm no mechanic.
I'm wondering is it safe to drive still as I was going to use it on Sunday to go to the Audi in the park meet?
I'm also wondering if it is a job I could tackle myself as I have some mechanical knowledge and all the tools etc?
Here are a couple of photos to help with my queries.

Thanks in advance Mark & Sam.

Hi Mark & Sam

Nothing to worry about really. As you suspected the plastic sleeves have moved along the ARB and out of the bushes. It is fairly easy to replace the bushes with the Polo ones (search previous threads under 'ARB') which do not need the sleeve but I found that this was only good for a short period of time (others might disagree) and replaced the ARB for the newer one and have had no problems since. Only need some ramps/axle stands and a 10mm(?) spanner and you are away (2 bolts on each collar).

Regards

Neil

Hi mark
As a cheep and quick fix you could remove the plastic sleeves and fit Polo roll bar bushes. As Niel and Phil indicate, the 'official' fix is to fit the new design roll bar and corresponding bushes. This requires the subframe to be lowered slightly for access and this can affect the wheel camber if you don't carefully mark and realign the subframe when refitting. There is more info here - http://www.a2oc.net/forum/showthread.php?t=6341&highlight=roll+bar+bushes
If you like the idea of the Polo bushes, do a search for (you guessed) polo bushes for dtails of bush part nos etc

Cheers Spike

Thanks everyone.
I think I'm going to try the Polo fix but can't seem to find the necessary part no's!
Can anyone help me I've been looking for them for some time now?

Thanks.

PS hopefully bump(excuse the pun) some of you at Audi in the park.