A buyer's question - well lots really!

davzrx8

Hi everyone,

I am a newbie who is looking at buying an A2 but have lots of questions in my quest to buy and would appreciate any advice.

The A2 will be for my wife to run around in but more importantly, to me;) is the A2's ability to carry racing cycles. If I use the Audi roof bars will I be able to carry 3 bikes using thules fork locking type carriers?

Is a boot mounted carrier like a saris bones a good fit ( I took one back as I couldn't get the hooks in as the shut lines are so tight on my car?

I today tried a 1.4tdi 75hp and was greatly disappointed in its performance expecting a surge of torque but nothing of the sort. Is the 90hp tdi much better?

I am considering the 1.6fsi for more hp but I have read on this forum that a cam belt should be done at 40k or 4 yrs which seems very low, is this correct?

Are 1.6 sport's in storm colour less loved, is a metallic colour a better choice?

Apart from checking that everything works electrically and no repaired crash damage is there anything that needs to be checked specifically such as too much black smoke on a tdi meaning the turbo is cooked?

What should i pay for an 04-05 model, either a 90tdi SE/sport or a 1.6fsi/sport. The 52plate 1.4tdi I looked at today with 52k on the clock at a ford main dealer was £5.5k window price.

Any advice/answers to questions greatly appreciated

Andrew

Murdo?! Murdo ... ANOTHER one for you ...LOL :D

Hold on mate, he'll be along in a minute

SARGE

carrying bikes is almost easier inside. there's lots of info around, if it's not here, it's on the German site. I'll take a quick butcher's and see what I can find.
External carriers (you'll need a boot one if you've got open sky) include basically the Paulchen - €285 - it's not cheap, but it's good and fits nicely.

i find all the TDIs are ... not my thing - but there should be torque at 1800. OTOH, it's only 75hp, which means minimal fuel bills.