Hello from Portugal!

krypz0n

Hello! I am from Porto, Portugal, and recently bought my first car and it was an A2 tdi (AMF). I took a train from Porto to Lisbon, bought the car and drove it back thats an adventure of its own. Its had quite a rough life and is a bit rough on the edges! I have some experience with old VP TDIs and this is my first PD.
IMG_20230927_170543.jpg

Fun extras included on arrival:
past history of the car in documents only goes up to 2015 (i have 0 clue what its been done besides timing at 209k kms, currently at 240k)
only 1 in 4 electric windows working
extremely high fuel consumption (from topped to almost at reserve ive done only 450 ish KMs (280 miles), and i think i have the big tank, but will confirm once i top it again)
sagging headline and most buttons with the fantastic audi paint/coat coming off
cut water level sensor
had 6 or more liters of oil in it, dipstick orange tip is cut in half and i cant see the bottom, i put 5L in this time..
all 3 engine mounts needing replacing
and pressure in the coolant (99% sure it has HG issues)

when i bought it i did a chemical test on the coolant and it was fine, although full of rust and old coolant. idk how i didnt notice then
ive changed all oils and filters and been cleaning the coolant regularly, but its slowly getting better . it doesnt seem like a big HG leak so hopefully can drive it as is for a while.

so far:
both front electric windows have been fixed
oil (used 5L), oil filter, fuel filter, air filter, cabin filter, thermostat replaced & many coolant flushes happened (running on distilled atm and change it now and then)
just very recently changed the thermostat, hopefully that will make my consumptions better (that was a heck of a job to change the tiny thing)
used some thermocure to remove the rust on the expansion tank, and the coolant level sensor is working again
will repair the other electric windows then move to the ceiling sag next!