Ignition live for aftermarket radio and display

sergio2305

Hi, I'm kinda new to the car world, especially everything about the electrical system, I replaced my aftermarket radio with a new one and bought a display for Apple CarPlay (Carpuride) power through the lighter plug, I suppose the radio is connected to the permanently live connection as it remains on when the ignition is off. I wanted to hard wire the display into the fuse box in a way which powers it with the ignition, where I could plug it? Is it possible? I wanted to power the radio through the ignition live but I have no idea how to make it, in the radio diagram a pin is dedicated to the ignition live, does it even exist in the A2?

Attachments

• Schermata 2024-01-20 alle 21.11.59.png
    Schermata 2024-01-20 alle 21.11.59.png
    414.7 KB · Views: 41
Good Evening,

I am not an electrics man or that interested in audio upgrades so I am little use to you, but I have seen reference to piggy backing the big fat wire in a climate unit (if you have such) connector for an ignition live, but be wary of my comment.

I have also read of incompatible ariel problems and non OEM radios draining the battery so be aware it might be not that straight forward, you really need advice from somebody who knows.

Please help this poor member.

Andy

Hi, I'm kinda new to the car world, especially everything about the electrical system, I replaced my aftermarket radio with a new one and bought a display for Apple CarPlay (Carpuride) power through the lighter plug, I suppose the radio is connected to the permanently live connection as it remains on when the ignition is off. I wanted to hard wire the display into the fuse box in a way which powers it with the ignition, where I could plug it? Is it possible? I wanted to power the radio through the ignition live but I have no idea how to make it, in the radio diagram a pin is dedicated to the ignition live, does it even exist in the A2?