New member - advice on A2's please

A2Chris

Hi everyone, new member and first post.

I have always wanted an A2 ever since having one as a loan car from Audi about 5 years ago, but couldnt really justify one.

Now we have a new A4 Avant which is great, but we need a second car to take us to the station and maybe ferry the kids around when the other car is in use.

This means I now have the perfect excuse to get an A2 instead of a 3 year old Clio or Feista.

Anyway, I have started doing some research, and your forum is great, so thanks.

Im basically looking for as new and low mileage as possible for around 4-5k. Not fussed about tdi as it will do very few miles and these seem to hold there value even better then the petrols. Not even that fussed about spec in a strange way as the A4 has all the bells and whistles on, I just wanted something as reliable and unmolested as possible.

With that in mind, I have started searching and stumbled across these two. Like I say im new to this so I think they are probably overpriced, but any help much appreciated.

http://www.ajcars.com/used/AUDI/A2/AETV91130319

http://www.ccmotors.co.uk/used-cars/audi-a2-1-4-se-5dr-sidcup-201220471295615

I have read the forum rules and think its ok to post links, but please let me know if not.

Thanks

Hi Chris welcome to the A2oc.

I would not be so worried about milage myself as long as it was not galactic:) I would sooner go for something that has been well looked after and fully serviced at the correct times. The main one is the cam belt and water pump most a2s should be at least there second by now. Every 5 years or 70k.

You are always going to pay more for a car from a dealer. But you have more protection. With your budget you will find some nice examples. But as you said in your position it's not worth the premium for a tdi. And as you don't have a list of must have options then will open up your options considerably.