The Cameroon Line and Pico de São Tomé

timmus

A2OC Donor
Hello good people of A2OC.

At the end of December, I posted this thread - https://www.a2oc.net/community/index.php?threads/logging-off-for-a-month.34352/ - declaring that I’d be off grid for a month or so. Outside of my work on A2s, I work as an audio systems engineer and had been asked to work on a recording studio in Libreville, on the Atlantic coast of Gabon. Whilst the job itself only took eight days, I spent the rest of the time exploring. I had intended on posting a load of photos immediately upon my return, but various other commitments meant that has been delayed until now.

I travelled with Martin, a life-long friend of mine who is French-speaking Belgian. My French is patchy at best and Gabon, where the audio systems job was, is a former French colony. As such, Martin took leave from his usual job and worked as my translator for a while before we resumed our regular relationship of travel companions.

Understanding Ultras

Ultra-prominent peaks, known simply as ‘Ultras’, are mountains that have topographic prominence of 1500m or more. Altitude is a simple measure of how much vertical height there is between the surface of the ocean and the summit of a mountain. Prominence, on the other hand, is a measure of how much a mountain protrudes above what’s around it.
For example, the city of Lhasa in Tibet is approximately 3600m above sea level simply because all of Tibet is at high altitude. As such, even minor bumps outside the city are of much greater altitude than almost the entirety of Europe, but their prominence is very small because they don't rise far above the surrounding landscape. By climbing one such bump, you might be at high altitude, but you don’t get a sense that you’re towering above all you survey.