Chat 32 in a 30 and flashed by camera

Rich.

A2OC Donor
I was just driving along normally and fully aware of the speed and the cameras in front on the sat nav I went past at 32 and the camera flashed 3 or 4 times, there was no one in front well except another audi which was to far in front to be flashed but there was about 3 of us just going past the camera.

Is that right just 2mph over the limit and you get flashed. It was dark and raining.

I can do some class and pay £60 with no points or have the points? :rolleyes:

I personaly can't see you being done for that! 3 or 4 flashes doesn't sound right either... I'm no expert but I'd be suprised if you recieve something through the post after that!

I agree with PhilK and I have been flashed before whilst doing 38 in a 40 zone - the camera was faulty! I heard nothing about it either.

ULP is right though, 30 means 30 and if it does come down to it, hopefully your prosecuting force will operate a speed awareness course, which although means 4 hours in a classroom, will help you avoid points.

Cheers,

Mike

I could be wrong, but 1 flash is a warning, 2 flashes is a ticket and was under the impression that 4 is a calibration.:confused:

Alan

My sat nav reads a higher speed than the speedo of any car/van i put it in. I have asked a few people and general opinion is make sure the one with the highest speed dipslayed is below the speed limit. If you have a decent satnav its actually going to be more acurate then the cars speedo this is because manufactuers purposely set the cars speedo's to read faulse ie they set the speedo to show 10mph when ur doing 8mph.

I wouldn't trust the GPS speed reading too much. It is only accurate when you're on a straight line and at a constant speed that consumer gps on the civilian channels will be able to give you an accurate reading. Factors like, sample rate, number of satellites being lock, accuracy of the map data all affects the reading.