Anyone drive a dsg

JavaGreen

Scotland
Has anyone driven or own a dsg box car/van? Any good? Any problems? Would you have another?
cheers
Paul

I had an A4 3.0L V6 with one. It was brilliant until it started doing random changes harshly when stopped. Just outside warranty and 38k.

George

Nice when working but can be quite troublesome to the point of being dangerous, hard to diagnose problems with them and very expensive to repair if not covered by warranty. Personally I would avoid them

I also visit the Skoda Yeti owners’ club from time to time (which is, compared to A2OC, barely worth the cyberspace it occupies) and those with DSG gearboxes seem to love them. Within Yeti world, they don’t seem overly problematic given their prevalence, but they are seemingly proper piggybank-raiders when they go wrong.

The Yeti on our driveway is a 6-speed manual, so I’ve no first-hand experience.

Cheers,

Tom

Last edited: