Bracket supporting int.cooler hose broken.

Fredaudi

A2OC Donor
Hi, everyone.Today I found a bracket mounted on the engineblock broken.It is for supporting a hose to the intercooler.There was some oil around, and I wonder if this (hopefully) could be the source for it.
Oil was mostly around under the bottom of the intercooler and on the hose itself.
The undertray was also pretty soaked.
Could anyone tell me the part number for this bracket with two 10mm bolts holding it?
I could not find it in Aud7zap.
5D2A28E8-5E5F-460B-ABB3-3DE526AAD59A.jpeg

Last edited:
Thank you! On my way to the Audi dealer soon.Pretty important to keep this fixed and stable.
Hopefully the leak is from the connections, when the hose has been dancing around..

I would be mildly concerned that the oil within the intercooler pipework is coming from upstream - ie the turbo. Don't want to worry you overly - I'm not an expert but I did have an oil leak from the turbo in my AMF so this came to mind. More expert people will be along soon! best of luck, Robin

Thank you, think I could use some luck..and I am absolutely less of an expert, than most people on this forum.

From what I understand, the intercooler is a weak point, the rocker gasket, the Turbo, and the tandem pump gasket are usual suspects.
If the leak was from above, would not the alubody of the intercooler also be soaked in oil?
So far everything seems normal when driving.

Last edited:
Internally the intercooler very probably has oil. If it is external then you have a far bigger problem. That clamp is the lowest point for the charge air exiting the turbo and acts as a sump catching oil before if ends up in the intercooler and inlet manifold. More importantly that bracket / clamp damps out the pulsing and vibration from reaching the lower end cap on the intercooler. This pulsing and vibration puts strain on the lower end cap which starts to crack and then split open causing a boost leak and limp mode.