Buying a Vagcom

Hello all. I'm a newbie here and have only had my A2 for a week. I bought it will high miles( 101k) but good service history and it looks to have been very well kept. However at low revs it seems to lack power and I have to go down to 3rd gear to get up a hill on my way to work. As I am a keen home mechanic with a good home workshop, I thought I would buy my own Vagcom. I have seen a number for sale second hand and wondered if there is a specific, or preferred, model that will help with my 2003 A2 1.6Fsi(BAD). Thanks, Russ

The only one to consider is the genuine Ross Tech HEX+CAN usb interface - not cheap, but a worthwhile investment that you can use on hundreds of models and not just Audis too. It is also lifetime upgradeable, both software and firmware inside the interface.

Gendan is the authorised seller in the UK, so see if that's in your price range. Cheap units or ebay items are usually copy cables that cannot work with the proper software and won't scan the whole car, if at all.

Cheers,,

Michael

Reactions: chb
Exactly, it is false economy to buy a pirate version, you will have to pretend it is a date in the past and disable the update option.

The other cheaper "lite" versions are OK but again, the expensive Gendan cable and software is a good investment if you plan on keeping your A2 for a while (or buy other cars that the cable can be used on)

I think that there are many people on here that have saved the cost many times over in time saved and fault diagnosis.

Steve B