Feedback for Skipton01

Hi all,

I have been in contact with Mike (Skipton01) for a couple of months, arranging several pieces of work to be carried out on my stock 1.4TDi SE (75). I chose Mike for the work based on his posts, and the responses from A2OC members, on this forum.

I am a competent, self-taught, engine mechanic who has several cars (all older than 1974, so no computer software required to “tune/programme” them).

My aim was to have the work carried out while I watched/learned/asked questions, so in the future I could perform routine maintenance/servicing with the knowledge I would be able to look after my vehicle without needing to pay Audi’s labour charges.

The work has now been done, and I thought it would be useful to any new A2OC members to hear genuine and honest feedback regarding Mike and his work/ethics.

The work I had done was as follows:

Full Long-Life service inc. fuel filter and brake fluid change.
HID installation.
Cruise Control supplied and fitted.
Auto Dipping rear view mirror supplied and fitted.
Second remote key coded (as I only had one key when the car was purchased).
Cambelt change and VCDS (guidance only).

Mike resides just off Saddleworth Moor in the Pennines. There isn’t the luxury of free espresso coffee and a comfortable heated waiting area as found at my local dealership, and a full day there in December can be chilly (although the cold doesn’t seem to bother Mike at all). However, if, as me, you are interested in what is being performed on your car, and want to view all the procedures and ask questions it is perfect.