insurance & foreign drivers in the UK

Status
Not open for further replies.

gerard

hey dudes,

i'm an american driver, been driving for 15 years and no accidents etc...

i had to get a provisional driver's license as my american license is not exchangable for UK one.

now i'm told that to be added to my wife's insurance it will cost £100 a month...

does that sound right?

it seems quite expenive to me...

i think we are already paying about £450 a year already...

thanks,
gerard

2003 1.6 SE FSI Cobalt Blue & 1968 Dodge Charger

Sounds about right to be honest-I'm paying about £330 a year in a low risk area, full no claims, garaged overnight, group 6 (I think!) car.

Don't forget that the A2 is costly to repair so that will push up the premium.

Best thing is to shop around when your insurance is next up for renewal.

Steve - 2002 1.4SE petrol, Silver, black/black interior, Then an identical replacement 2003 A2. Now a Toyota Corolla 1.6 T-Spirit

Which insurance company is it?

If you're over here quite a bit, what about taking the UK driving test. If you had a full UK license instead of a provisional one, that would probably lower the premium by quite a bit.

Don't drink drive! Not only is it socially unaceptable, it also harms A2's.
Was a 1.4SE petrol. http://www.audi-a2.co.uk/uk14.htm http://www.audi-a2.co.uk/safety.htm
New A2 on order - Ebony Black, Red Leather + many other options.

Welcome to the land of ridiculous insurance rates!

[15]
Companies here will not carry over any no claims bonuses!