Looking for an A2 as first car..

poltheball

A2OC Donor
Ayup,

This is my first post on the forum, just thought I'd say hello!

I'm a student looking to buy my first car; oddly, after several weeks of searching (not buying til mid May, but I've known I'll be buying then since March), the A2 has popped up as a viable first car. The alternatives were a Suzuki Wagon R or a Mercedes A-class. I'm a keen mountain biker so bike-carrying capacity is important, whether it be inside the car or on the roof/towbar.

I'm looking to buy a decent petrol example for less than £2k; I'm keen on a 1.6fsi as they're more economical, and, er, nippier for the same VED and insurance outlay as the 1.4.

Any tips as to what exactly to look out for at that price, and whether I'm right in wanting a 1.6 over the 1.4? Diesel is a no-go as although the tax is much cheaper, it adds a hefty chunk onto my premium.

I've had a look at a relative's 1.4TDi and I'm keen on the interior etc, and it certainly seems to be a decent low-maintenance car whilst being a bit different (don't see too many on the roads up here).

If anyone's selling one in the Glasgow area, or up in Dundee, or even down Coventry/Birmingham way, I'd be interested to have a look!

Cheers

Hi and welcome. The A2 really is a tardis which always surprises any passengers I carry in mine. I am surprised about the insurance issue with the diesel, must be the tyre scorching performance of the turbo!! However tread carefully with the FSi, whilst they have their fans and are no doubt one of the sweetest A2's to drive they can often be quite an expensive can of worms. Might be worth trying a few other insurers before giving up on the TDi? You will also need to be patient in finding the 'right' car and don't expect one to pop up in the next 2 weeks otherwise there is a danger you will buy a money pit.

PS if any car does not have digital climate then it does not have aircon, whatever the advertiser may claim!

Last edited: