New guy 1.4TDi

Muska

A2OC Donor
Hello all,

I've been googling a few A2 related things recently and this forum keep on coming up at the top of my searches, after lots of reading I decided to join, you have a great thing going here :D

I wont bore you with too many details about me, I'm a Firefighter in the midlands, used to be heavily into VW's a few years back, even worked for PVW for a few years (photographer) and shot a cover for them once. I've owned various Golf's from a MK1 G60 convertible, MK1 G40, MK2 VR6 & a Golf Rallye (should never have sold this one!)

I bought my A2 in April 2014 as I had just moved in with the Mrs and would be doing an 80mile commute, my S4 Avant was going to bankrupt me if I kept it so something cheaper to run was on the cards. I picked him up for £2150 with 150k on the clocks and he stands at 193k today and has (touch wood!) never let me down! Only requiring a wheel bearing, handbrake cable and spring in nearly 3 years. He's a 1.4TDi SE

I mentioned it's a 'he', we named him Bert! He's like the little old man who wont retire and works as hard now as he did in his youth ;) It seems fitting for him anyway...

He's been somewhat overlooked as he has munched the miles so well, so there are a few niggling issues I want to get sorted, the front suspension needs a refresh, fuel filler cap Solenoid has not worked for some time and I've opened it from the boot for at least 2 years now, the interior switches look a bit tatty as they've worn & a full service is now due. I quite like to get my hands dirty but I'll most likely use a local garage for the suspension parts once I've gathered them all (I've already book marked the suspension thread :D ) unless anyone can recommend a VW friendly garage in the Rugeley/Armitage area? I've just fitted a bargain set of S3 AVUS wheels so I will look to drop the ride height a touch while I'm at it. Then onto fitting some TT front seats... this is how it starts isn't it! ;)