New TDI Sport owner - North West

whitbytom

Hi all,

Thought I'd drop a post in here as I've been perusing the forum a fair bit the last couple of weeks. Yesterday I took the plunge and bought an '03 TDI Sport in Light Silver, from a local advert. I've been a fan of the A2 since I was an Audi salesman in 2005-07, my first demonstrator was a TDI SE and at the time all our service loan cars were A2's of some description. They were in production for less than a year after I started with Audi and I barely sold a handful. They developed a bad reputation for coming back for warranty work (FSIs particularly) so most people opted for an A3 sportback over an A2. Anyway I'm preaching to the choir here, I like them!

So here is my purchase:

IMG_3720.jpg

The car I've bought seems to be in pretty good condition, the bodywork is tidy enough and the thing has clearly had some love over the years, but there are a few jobs I've identified that I will need to address in the next few weeks:

1. The oil level sensor has packed in - the yellow warning is flashing (oil level on the dip stick is fine)
2. The washer bottle level sensor has also given up - another annoying flash and beep on startup.
3. I don't have any proof of a timing belt change since 85k and the car has done 135k 😬 so I need to investigate.
4. I need to replace the fuel filler flap as it's broken (I have one on hand).
5. The water trap for the driver's side bonnet drain is missing, so I need one of those.
6. I will probably give it a full engine and gearbox service for peace of mind.

I've also got a little wager going with my father in law over running costs. He's a big EV fan and runs a Mercedes EQA, which he thinks is incredibly cheap to run. I've worked out at current electricity rates it's costing him 8.5p a mile to run - I think I can come close with my 19 year old diesel, but he disagrees! We'll see I guess.