None starter after head change 1.4TDi

Can anyone shed any light on this problem please? I am a time served mechanic though I've not done this as a job for 25 years. That being said I'm comfortable tackling just about anything on the A2. I recently changed the turbo which is a nightmare to change, so much so that on a 100k mile car I decided to also do the head gasket and cambelt. The turbo was easily changed with the head off. This is a 2005 car with a BHC TDi engine.
The problem is that the car won't start with the camshaft sensor plugged in but starts and runs beautifully with the sensor unplugged. I'm getting fault code 19464 and I've changed the sensor twice believing the first new unit must be faulty. I have timed the engine using the special locking tools but is it possible that not setting the torsion values using Vagcom could mean the valve timing is so far out as to cause none starting problems? I don't think it is and if this was the case I don't believe it would start with the cam sensor unplugged? In any event doesn't the cam sensor only deal with fuel timing to each cylinder? one of the cam sensor lugs did get bent on the camshaft sprocket as the head was being removed. I straightened this and don't think this should have any adverse affects unless the gap between sensor and rotating lugs is really critical?
I'm absolutely at a loss on this one now and would appreciate advice from anyone who might be able to shed light on this.

Have you access to VCDS ???....If so, please post the complete DTC.

19464 is usually an indication the the camshaft position sensor signal is out of range, so perhaps the issue is with the bent lug, but the full DTC would help.

Cheers

Jeff

Have you access to VCDS ???....If so, please post the complete DTC.

19464 is usually an indication the the camshaft position sensor signal is out of range, so perhaps the issue is with the bent lug, but the full DTC would help.

Cheers

Jeff