Not the … End of the road

andrewparkeruk

A2OC Donor
A couple of weeks ago my car made an unpleasant noise whilst accelerating from a traffic light on a 40mph dual carriageway in Manchester
ATL, something like 205,000 miles, original lots of things …
Had it recovered back to Ynys Môn/Anglesey. Local garage diagnosed failed DMF
Fair enough: the average life of a ATL DMF seems to be in the low 100,000+ miles
No DMF in the UK. Ordered one (LUK) from Italy at a scary price; paid the VAT/duty, it arrived with the garage on Monday this week
Garage managed to get my car on his ramp today. WhatsApp followed by phonecall mid afternoon: can you come by?
Got there an hour later; end of play today. Car on ramp: driveshafts off; gearbox off; clutch/DMF off; probably lots of other things off (I am not a mechanic). Engine supported…
Diagnosis: crankshaft broken!

I met @Clackers last year (or 2021) after I had parked my car in Deganwy, and came back to it to find a note along the lines: “If you want to sell this car …”

Contacted Andy this evening: I think my car is beyond salvage. The garage rightly needs their ramp back tomorrow morning

Andy is going to try to help me recycle my car back into the A2 community. Like @timmus, who bought his A2 around the same time, my car has been perfect for me. In recent years I have spent plenty to keep it on the road: better the devil you know; plus no depreciation

I won’t be buying another A2. Having to import a part from Italy (post Brexit) just to try to keep it on the road means the A2 is no longer a viable project for me

Purchased via this forum Oct-2009, 2 owners 40,000 miles

Last edited:
Well that is sad news. What do you mean by broken? Snapped?

If the camshaft has somehow broken but the car still runs (which suggests the pieces have somehow managed to still turn together in synch) the. Is it not possible to just replace the camshaft? Could you alternatively just replace the engine with a good used one?