Reunited to the A2....and loving it!

Ruggie

Hi all.

Just purchased my first owned A2 and starting to realise how fantastic they are.

I was an Audi salesman at the time of their launch and our dealership had a LHD to promote it before the UK release. I loved it so much, even as a LHD, that I chose to drive it around as my demo. The other guys thought I was mad but the looks you got from people in the street and other drivers was amazing. It was just the new fun car from Audi and instead of being a typical understated Audi it turned heads. The problem with the A2 was that it was way ahead, and still is, of its time and also it was never available as an auto. If an automatic had been available it would have won masses of new customers from the Merc A class, which was supposed to be its competition.

I'm now the proud owner of a 51 plate A2 SE in solid black with Open Sky and 120,000 miles on the clock. Very clean inside but a few scratches here and there on the door panels. Hey, it is 15 years old....what do you expect! All original even the Chorus radio/cassette.......yes cassette.....I've had to dig out my old tapes from the 80's and its making feel like a teenager again when I'm driving it! It cost me £640 from the auction and all I've done to it is clean, new wiper blade and new number plates with the registration K12 NME. To those that don't know how the registrations work it looks like a 12 plate...and with the condition of it and the rarity of A2's (had it a month now and only seen 3 others) it does look 10 years younger than it is. The drive is still solid and all the controls still click or clunk as if new. Common faults include the wear on the climate control buttons, window switches and lights switch. Little to suffer with considering its age. Just loving it!!

Ruggie, proud owner! :D