seat bolster repair

Hi All,

I'm new to A2 ownership and this forum. I've just picked up an 04 TDI Sport and the driver's side outer bolster is very saggy in the usual high-mileage way.
It seems that a replacement driver's Sport seat is going to be a tricky thing to find, has anyone ever tried a foam bolster replacement?
On another thread here it implies that there is a replacement foam bolster available from Audi, but I'm not confident in my ability to replace it without making a hash of things - I'd rather leave it as-is than make more of a mess of it, unless it's pretty straightforward.

Does anyone have any experience of repairing or replacing the bolster?

Thanks, Steve

Welcome!
What colour of trim does your car have? There are an awful lot of A2s being broken up at the moment - several through this forum in fact, and I'm sure there will be some spare seats knocking about as a result. Might well be easier to swap an entire set of seats!

Hi Steve, and welcome to the A2OC.

The fact that your car has Sport seats means that finding a replacement set as Dan suggests could take some condiderable time. Sport seats are fairly desirable and rarely available, though they do suffer from wear to the outside bolsters as you've described.
Audi can indeed supply a replacement bolster. If you're not confident in your abilities to take the seat apart and put it back together again (which I fully understand!) then taking the seats to a trimmers could be the solution. Trimmers are used to taking them apart in order to cover them in leather...

Cheers,

Tom

Thanks for the replies.
Dan - the seats are black (with white Matrix pattern).
I've just looked at the seat again and it's not too bad, just that I'm a little anal about these things.. Perhaps I'll enquire about parts costs and see if a local fitter would do something with it for me. Who's good for parts like this nowadays-anyone online or do I have to stick with the dealers?