Sport v's SE

rktec

Hi,

Firstly, please be gentle, Im a newbie (so apologies if this has been covered before/or if it opens up old wounds?) . . . and am looking to buy an A2 by the end of the month.

Secondly, have been having a look at the FAQ section, re; buying an A2 and it has answered almost all my questions, so thanks to all for taking the time to compile that stuff, it has really helped.

Now to the dilema - I almost know the car I want, but am torn between the 2 camps of Sport or SE, but it needs to be a 2002/2003 plate TDi(90) in Silver with black leather (yes I know its boring but Im a purist) and with as many extras as I can get on it!!!

Can you pleeease give me your thoughts on the pro's and cons (ride/brakes/spec/resale/etc)?

All views greatly appreciated, thanks.

Also, Im in Edinburgh and the Audi Dealer there isnt the best as I found to my bank accounts horror with my old TT, so if anyone knows of such an A2 Id be v grateful if you could point me in the right direction.

Cheers,

Chris.

Hi there,

I looked at the SE and the sport over a number of weeks, when I was trying to decide which one to go for.

I found that in general, the SE had a greater amount of toys and trim, however I found the SPORT much more fun and enjoyable to drive.

The Breaks feel the same, but the suspention in the sport is much harder and I found the steering a little more direct as a result of the stiffer suspention and the larger wheels.

I think the key is the optional extras, although the SE will generally have a higher spec then the SPORT, Audi offered so many optional extras that it really depends on the preference of the person who originally ordered the car.

Im sure you could find a Sport with the extras you want, but it wont be easy.

With regards to the price, I found that the sports cost more to buy second hand, there are less of them to start with and due to the small numbers they were sold in compaired to other cars it has kept the values quite high.