Sunroof

Derekco

Hi I am new to this but would appreciate your knowledge I recently bought a 51 a2 for my wife lovely little car secretly I have longed to own one but never got the chance until recently (my car is 93 S2 coupe) the problem I have is the open sky sunroof ,it only open the first panel then stops ,is it supposed to go further ,the glass panel behind looks like it has never been opened ,so could it be stuck?

Hi Derek,

The first button press tilts the first glass panel. The second press lifts it and slides it back. At the same time a mirror action occurs with the second panel. Once fully open you should have two panels lifted from rest and in their open position.

The opensky is prone to failure and there will be many threads on these pages about it. If not used frequently, the lubricating grease can set hard putting pressure on the motor and cables during the opening sequence and causing one or both elements to fail. As the first part of the roof opens, the second panel may simply be stuck and in need of a helping hand. Try applying very gentle pressure to the second panel from inside the car to see if this helps get it going. A second pair of hands may be required.

Cheers,

Darren

Thanks Darren I thought as much the second panel did open eventually grease was very I mean very sticky , don't want to push my luck with it ,the second panel does not slide fully open so will apply some degreaser to the sliders and cables then after awhile will try again ,I live in the north east so any sun is a premium lol.