Thankful A2 owner

dezel

Hi All,

Great forum, with help from various posts I got my open sky replaced for free (well I paid for a full service whilst there) at Rinner in Bad Tolz so a lovely road trip and working sunroof. Also just fixed a sticking drivers window by resetting the door module - I had been resetting by taking off the battery connections for 3 months until reading a post about how to reset the door module. So thanks to everyone!

Had the A2 1.4 tdi since new (2001) Good points nippy, distinctive, design hasn't aged, can even get 80 mpg on an economy run, low insurance and road tax, great space inside for size, feels classy.

Not so good - local Audi dealer! , rough slow speed ride and suspension crashes on our bumpy, pot holed roads (yes it has the low profile alloy wheel option :( ) open sky constantly sticking since new (still does on a hot day - you have to push it upwards by hand at the same time as using the switch to stop the risk of it jamming and breaking the opening system) a few visibility blind spots. but overall have become quite attached over the years!

Anyway thanks once more to the forum and hope to dip in and out in the future.

Dezel

Welcome! Good work on the OpenSky fix - was that recent? the Audi UK "good will" repair was only for 10 years, so I guess the Germans are still honoring it over at Rinners?

Your suspension is 13 years old, maybe treat it to a new set of (uprated) shocks and springs with some new bushes all round? The A2 was never the most limo-like of cars suspension-wise, but it can be improved.

Actually I doubt if the suspension is 13 years old as "bits connected to the front wheels" have been replaced quite frequently over the years!